Dhaka, May 4, 2019: Mr. Md. Alamgir Kabir, Vice Chairman of Crown Cement Group and Managing Director of Crown Cement Concrete and Building Products Ltd. has been elected as the new President of Bangladesh Cement Manufacturers Association (BCMA) for the session 2019-20 and 2020-21.
Mr. Md. Shahidullah, Managing Director of Metrocem Cement Ltd & Chairman of Metrocem Group, and Mr. Zahir Uddin Ahmed, Managing Director of Confidence Cement Ltd, have also been elected the 1st and 2nd Vice-President of the BCMA respectively.
They were elected at the annual general meeting of the BCMA held in the association premises in Dhaka on April 30, 2019.
The newly elected President of BCMA Mr. Md. Alamgir Kabir a leading entrepreneur in Bangladesh. He has also served as the Additional Managing Director of M. I. Cement Factory Ltd. (Crown Cement), Chairman of GPH Ispat Ltd. and Director of Premier Cement Mills Ltd.
The other members of the newly elected committee of the BCMA are: as Treasurer Mr. Faizur Rahman Bakul (Himalaya Cement) and as Executive Members Mr. Abdul Khaleque Pervez (Diamond Cement), Mr. Md. Manwar Hossain (Anwar Cement), Mr. Md. Khurshed Alam (Fresh Cement), Mr. Ashraful Amin Badal (Heidelberg Cement), Mr. P.N. Iyer (Insee Cement) and Saif Rahman (Seven Rings Cement).
In an immediate reaction, Mr. Md. Alamgir Kabir said the new committee will work for the development of cement industry of Bangladesh. They will work intensively with the government and policy makers for the betterment of the industry. They will also focus on maintaining the consumers’ rights. He hoped that the cement sector will contribute the most to the government exchequer. It is mentionable that there are 76 cement companies in Bangladesh including 5 multinational companies.
Prior to Md. Alamgir Kabir, Bashundhara Group Chairman Mr. Ahmed Akbar Sobhan and Meghna Group of Industries Chairman Mr. Mostafa Kamal also served as the president of the BCMA.
>> Media Link
>> BCMA Executive Committee for 2019-2020 and 2020-2021